Sustainable development:
Social issues & the environment

UNECE

UNECE Water and Health Convention

In the European part of the UNECE* region alone, an estimated 120 million people do not have access to safe drinking water and adequate sanitation. That is, one person in seven is vulnerable to water-related diseases such as cholera, bacillary dysentery, coli infections, viral hepatitis A and typhoid. It is believed that cleaner water and better sanitation could prevent over 30 million cases of water-related disease in Europe each year.

The 1999 Protocol on Water and Health, which entered into force in 2005, is the first major international legal approach for the prevention, control and reduction of water-related diseases in Europe. States are required to establish national and local targets for the quality of drinking water and the quality of discharges, as well as for the performance of water supply and waste-water treatment.

The Protocol is an addition to the 1992 Convention on the Protection and Use of Transboundary Watercourses and International Lakes. WHO/Europe and the UNECE provide the joint secretariat for the Protocol, coordinating activities for its implementation. WHO handles the health aspects, while UNECE takes care of the legal and procedural aspects. The two institutions jointly organized the first meeting of the Parties to the Protocol on 17-19 January 2007 at the Palais des Nations in Geneva.

* The United States and Canada are also members of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe.

www.unece.org

Développement durable:
le social et l'environnement

UNECE

La Convention de la CEE-ONU sur l'eau et la santé

Dans la seule région de la CEE-ONU*, un nombre de personnes estimé à 120 millions n'ont pas accès à l'eau potable et à des systèmes adéquats d'assainissement, soit une personne sur sept, ce qui les rend vulnérables aux maladies liées à l'eau, comme le choléra, la dysenterie bacillaire, l'infection à E.coli, l'hépatite virale A et la typhoïde. Une eau plus propre et une meilleure hygiène permettraient d'éviter plus de 30 millions de cas de maladies liées à l'eau chaque année en Europe.

Le Protocole de 1999 sur l'eau et la santé, entré en vigueur en 2005, est le premier cadre juridique international visant à prévenir, combattre et faire reculer les maladies liées à l'eau en Europe. Pour atteindre ces buts, les Parties doivent fixer des objectifs nationaux et locaux concernant la qualité de l'eau potable, des eaux usées rejetées, ainsi que les niveaux de résultat des systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées.

Ce Protocole complète la Convention sur la protection et l'utilisation des cours d'eau transfrontières et des lacs internationaux, CEE-ONU 1992. Les fonctions de secrétariat pour le Protocole et de coordination de sa mise en oeuvre sont assurées en collaboration avec le Bureau régional pour l'Europe de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé. Ce dernier traite des aspects liés à la santé, les questions juridiques et de procédure incombant à la CEE-ONU. Ces deux institutions ont coparrainé la première réunion des Parties au Protocole qui s'est tenue du 17 au 19 janvier 2007 au Palais des Nations à Genève.

* Les États-Unis et le Canada sont aussi membres de la Commission économique des Nations Unies pour l'Europe.

www.unece.org

UNECE Water ans Health Convention