Initiatives: Local action
for sustainable development

Christian Ferrazino

Christian Ferrazino, Deputy Mayor of the City of Geneva until June 2007

Pierre-Franзois Unger

Pierre- Francois Unger, State Councilor and member of the Executive of the Republic and State of Geneva

Geneva City and Canton / UNEP

Geneva's Sustainable Development Festival:
A lasting partnership

Christian Ferrazino, Deputy Mayor of the City of Geneva, and Pierre-Francois Unger, State Councilor and member of the Executive of the Republic and State of Geneva.

Fixing sustainable development in the minds of Geneva's inhabitants presents a formidable communication challenge. In response, the Canton and City of Geneva have developed awareness strategies directed to the general public based on the idea that improving the global situation depends on simple, effective, local practices that can be applied and copied in everyday life.

The canton and city have combined their communication and awareness efforts in organizing a Festival of Sustainable Development every year since 2002. It has three main aims:

The festival is also an occasion to reward the initiatives of private bodies and associations through the presentation of a cantonal scholarship and prize in sustainable development, also open to candidates from neighboring regions of France and the Nyon district in the canton de Vaud.

The event has put down a solid foundation over the course of the years and has the support of more than 140 institutions, international organizations and public bodies including the Canton and City of Geneva's own services, plus associations and businesses. The latter have shown a growing interest in the festival. Its impact goes well beyond the event itself. The festival is organized around the recognition that still too often the general public considers sustainable development to be an abstract theory, restrictive and unfriendly. To get beyond this perception, each exhibitor is asked to show visitors concrete steps by which they can learn skills and reproducible practices with the aim that eventually they will adopt these for themselves. The entertainment side is provided by shows, workshops, discussion forums and concerts closely linked to the theme of sustainable development. What better indication of success than the number of these visitors? From 3000 in 2002, the festival has grown to attract 20,000 in 2006. Year by year it is becoming an event that is more and more appreciated by the local population, and its success encourages us to continue to explore the convivial and partnership dimension of sustainable development in Geneva.

Agenda 21, State of Geneva: www.geneve.ch
Agenda 21, City of Geneva: www.ville-ge.ch
Geneva Sustainable Development Festival: etat.geneve.ch

Initiatives: les actions locales
en faveur du développement durable

Christian Ferrazino

Christian Ferrazino, adjoint au Maire de Genève jusqu'en juin 2007

Pierre-François Unger

Pierre- Francois Unger, Conseiller d'État et membre de l'exécutif de la République et canton de Genève

Ville et Canton de Genève / PNUE

La Fête du développement durable de Genève:
un partenariat qui perdure

Christian Ferrazino, adjoint au Maire de Genève, et Pierre-François Unger, Conseiller d'État et membre de l'exécutif de la République et canton de Genève

Ancrer le développement durable dans la mentalité des Genevois constitue un redoutable défi en termes de communication. Pour le relever, le Canton et la Ville de Genève ont conçu diverses stratégies de sensibilisation à l'intention du grand public, en partant du principe que pour améliorer la situation dans son ensemble, il suffit de proposer des solutions simples, pratiques, efficaces et locales qui peuvent être appliquées et reproduites au quotidien.

Le Canton et la Ville de Genève ont conjugué leurs efforts en matière de communication et de sensibilisation pour organiser tous les ans depuis 2002 une Fête du développement durable. Cette fête a trois grands objectifs:

Cette Fête est également l'occasion de récompenser des initiatives prises par des organismes privés et des associations en remettant une bourse et un prix cantonaux du développement durable, dont les lauréats peuvent également provenir de régions voisines de France, de la région de Nyon et du canton de Vaud.

Au fil des ans, cette manifestation s'est forgé une solide réputation et bénéficie désormais du soutien de plus de 140 organismes, organisations internationales et collectivités publiques, y compris les propres services du Canton et de la Ville de Genève ainsi que d'autres associations et entreprises, lesquelles manifestent un intérêt croissant pour cette initiative. De fait, son impact va bien au-delà de la fête en soi. La manifestation s'articule autour du constat que trop souvent encore, le grand public perçoit le développement durable comme une théorie abstraite, limitative et hostile. Pour dépasser ce sentiment, chaque exposant est invité à présenter aux visiteurs des mesures concrètes leur permettant de se doter de techniques et de se familiariser avec des pratiques reproductibles, l'objectif étant de faire en sorte qu'à terme, ils les adoptent à leur tour. Sur le plan de l'animation, des spectacles, ateliers, groupes de discussion et concerts sont organisés, tous étroitement liés au thème du développement durable. Le succès ne se mesure-t-il pas au nombre de visiteurs? De 3000 en 2002, il est passé à 20 000 en 2006. Année après année, la Fête du développement durable est une manifestation de plus en plus prisée par la population locale et le succès qu'elle remporte nous encourage à continuer sur la voie du partenariat et de la convivialité dans le cadre du développement durable à Genève.

Agenda 21, canton de Genève: www.geneve.ch
Agenda 21, Ville de Genève