Partnerships with the private sector: Water

SDC / SECO / FOEN / FOPH / VSA / GRESE / EAWAG

Sanitation: A theme not really suitable for discussion?

A Swiss public-private partnership breaks the taboo in observance of the International Year of Sanitation

The UN General Assembly has declared the year 2008 the International Year of Sanitation, and in so doing helped to remind the international community of the commitments made in adopting the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs). Switzerland intends to do its share in contributing to the MDG targeting to halve, by 2015, the proportion of people without sustainable access to basic sanitation. To this end, it has launched a national awareness-raising campaign bringing together public and private partners, to wit, the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC), the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO), the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH), the Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology (EAWAG), the Swiss Water Pollution Control Association (VSA), and the Wastewater Treatment Plant Association of Western Switzerland (GRESE). The purpose of this coordinated effort is to raise public awareness of the challenges raised by the "WC", and to launch an appeal to Swiss citizens, enterprises, and municipalities to take action on a theme which is still all too often passed over in silence.

A health disaster that takes away 2 million lives each year

Having access to a toilet is something we simply take for granted. And yet, even in this day and age of internet, 2.6 billion people, i.e., about 40% of the world's population, are still obliged to do without. Sanitary facilities, however, are hardly to be considered a luxury when we consider that every 20 seconds a child under the age of 5 is struck down by a diarrheal disease directly caused by the lack of sanitation, hygiene, and clean drinking water. Indeed, over the last ten years, the number of children killed by this silent tragedy has exceeded the number of all those who have fallen victim to the world's armed conflicts since 1945.

Sanitation in the spotlight thanks to a network of public and private actors

Switzerland has decided to react to this unspoken tragedy by launching a campaign on a national scale. The primary objectives of the campaign, led in concert with several public and private partners, are to raise public awareness of the abominable conditions with which a third of humanity is confronted day after day, to mobilize investments, and to refresh the memory of the historical importance of sanitation and hygiene in Switzerland, while not losing sight of the future challenges.

The SDC, FOEN, FOPH, and SECO are directing this campaign hand in hand with the EAWAG and with professionals in the domain of sanitation by way of their umbrella organizations such as the Swiss Water Pollution Control Association (VSA) and the Wastewater Treatment Plant Association of Western Switzerland.

Several awareness-raising initiatives underway

The Swiss organizers have already begun a number of information and awareness campaigns including the creation of an Internet website, www.assainissement2008.ch, and the publication of an information brochure for the general public. Last May, forty wastewater treatment plants took part in an open-house initiative in which some 2,000 professionals responsible for protecting public health and the environment provided some 4,000 visitors with detailed information on their chosen profession. In addition, two traveling exhibitions organized by the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN) and Lausanne's University of Art and Design (ECAL) have been set up, and a drawing contest organized in primary schools, in which 600 children participated.

Sanitation: a vital imperative for respecting the environment, fostering good health, and promoting dignity

For the seven partners engaged in this unprecedented Swiss campaign, the stakes are high. Indeed, in one of the world's cleanest countries, it is far from being a matter of course to place sanitation – a fundamental human right – in the center of the news, on par with access to drinking water. Yet, just the same, sanitation is the cornerstone of both social and economic development. Sanitation and hygiene lie at the very heart of:

human dignity and social development: 2.6 billion people enjoy no other alternative but to defecate in plastic bags, or to perform their bodily functions along the roadside or in hidden, dark corners, thereby risking their own personal safety (particularly the women).

public health: Every day throughout the world, 5,000 children die from diarrhea – 4 times the number of lives claimed by AIDS. Human excrement plays a major role in the transmission of numerous infectious diseases. The lack of appropriate sanitary facilities and the necessity of living in conditions devoid of proper hygiene leaves the human being prey to numerous diseases such as diarrhea, cholera, typhoid, etc.

… preserving the environment: Every year, 200 million tons of untreated human fecal matter are dispersed into the environment. In the developing countries, approx. 90% of the wastewater and 70% of the industrial waste generated is simply discharged into nature’s flowing waters, often polluting at the same time the very source of the water supply. In those regions where a large proportion of the population lacks a sufficient supply of clean water and has no appropriate access to a system of sanitation, wastewater often spills directly into the streams, rivers, lakes, and swamps, thereby contaminating the costal and marine ecosystems, polluting the environment, and exposing millions of children to disease.

In the South, this is not a fatality provided we rally the needed solidarity

Concerted efforts are necessary to break the vicious circle - precarious health, polluted environment, poverty - created by the lack of sanitation. With the means at their disposal, the SDC and SECO are doing their share to reduce by half the number of people in the world with no access to basic sanitary installations. And sanitation is truly an economically profitable operation given that the return on one dollar of investment runs from 3 to even 9 dollars. The absence of sanitation is not a fatality. There are several promising examples where progress has been made, notably in Bangladesh. However, in order to meet the challenge, all of the pillars of society in the northern hemisphere need to act in a spirit of solidarity. This is the message permeating the Swiss campaign, which encourages citizens to support NGOs involved in the sanitation sector; municipalities, to join the Soliarit’eau cooperation network; and enterprises, to contribute to the Global Fund for Sanitation.

Geneva, world capital of health, is home to the first Global Fund for Sanitation

Further to the recommendation of the 2006 United Nations Human Development Report, the Global Fund was created under the aegis of the Water Supply and Sanitation Collaborative Council (WSSCC) in order to respond to the sanitation crisis. Founded in 1990 and placed under the aegis of the WHO, the WSSCC is also supported by the SDC which has been assisting this organization in the course of its development from the very start. Recognized as the worldwide leading agency on sanitation issues, it was upon the initiative of the WSSCC that the Global Fund for Sanitation (GFS) was created in March 2008. This Fund is a harmonized financial mechanism aiming both to concentrate its interventions in the most poverty-stricken countries where the demand for sanitation and hygiene is the greatest, and to facilitate the customized implementation of those projects and approaches that have proven their effectiveness, into the framework of the specific national sanitation policies defined by the governments.

To learn more, consult the Campaign’s Internet site at: and download the brochure « La santé, l’égalité et la dignité commencent ici »,

Contacts:
François Muenger, SDC, , tel. 031 325 92 52
Press Service of the FOEN, , tel: 031 322 90 00
Pierre Studer, FOPH, , tel: 031 322 95 05
Johan Gély, SECO, , tel: 031 324 08 68
Andri Bryner, EAWAG, , tel: 044 823 51 04
Urs Kupper, VSA, , tel: 043 343 70 72
Vincent Theurillat, GRESE, , tel: 032 422 02 52

Partenariats avec le secteur privé: l'eau

DDC / SECO / OFEV / OFSP / VSA / GRESE / EAWAG

Assainissement : un thème impossible à aborder ?

Un partenariat publics/privés suisse brise le tabou à l’occasion de l’Année internationale de l’assainissement

2008 a été décrété Année internationale de l’assainissement par l’ONU. Une action qui vient rappeler à la communauté internationale les engagements pris dans le cadre des Objectifs du Millénaire (ODM). Pour apporter sa contribution à l’ODM qui vise à réduire de moitié le nombre de personnes sans installations sanitaire de base d’ici 2015, la Suisse a lancé une campagne de sensibilisation sur son territoire qui réunit des partenaires publics et privés, soit la Direction du développement et de la coopération (DDC), le Secrétariat d’Etat à l’économie (SECO), les Offices fédéraux de l’environnement (OFEV) et de la santé publique (OFSP), l’Institut de recherche sur l’eau (EAWAG), ainsi que l'Association suisse des professionnels de la protection des eaux (VSA) et le Groupement romand des exploitants de stations d'épuration (GRESE). Un effort groupé pour faire mieux connaître du grand public les défis du « petit coin » et lancer un appel aux citoyens, entreprises et communes à se mobiliser autour d’un thème encore trop souvent passé sous silence.

Une catastrophe sanitaire qui vole chaque année 2 millions de vies

Avoir des toilettes à disposition est pour nous une parfaite évidence. Pourtant, à l’ère d’Internet, 2.6 milliards de personnes, soit environ 40% de la population mondiale, en demeurent encore totalement dépourvus. Les lieux d’aisance n’ont pourtant rien d’un luxe quand on sait qu’un enfant de moins de 5 ans meurt toutes les 20 secondes, frappé par une maladie diarrhéique directement causée par le manque d’assainissement, d’hygiène et d’eau potable. Au cours des dix dernières années, le nombre d’enfants emportés par ce désastre silencieux a ainsi dépassé celui des victimes de tous les conflits armés depuis 1945.

L’assainissement sous le feu de la rampe grâce à un réseau d’acteurs privés et publics

Face à cette tragédie silencieuse, la Suisse a décidé d'agir en lançant à son tour une campagne au niveau national. Sensibiliser la population aux conditions déplorables auxquelles est confronté le tiers de l’humanité jour après jour, mobiliser des investissements, rappeler l'importance historique mais aussi les défis à venir de l'assainissement et de l'hygiène en Suisse, constituent les objectifs premiers de cette action menée de concert par plusieurs partenaires publics et privés.

La DDC, l'OFEV, l'OFSP et le SECO, mènent cette campagne aux côtés de l’Eawag et de professionnels de l'assainissement, au travers de leurs organisations faîtières, tels l'Association suisse des professionnels de la protection des eaux (VSA) et le Groupement romand des exploitants de stations d'épuration (GRESE).

Plusieurs actions de sensibilisation à l’oeuvre

La Campagne suisse a déjà engagé plusieurs actions d’information et de sensibilisation dont la constitution d’un site Internet, www.assainissement2008.ch, et la publication d’une brochure d’information grand public. 40 stations d’épuration ont ouvert leurs portes en mai dernier où quelques 2'000 professionnels, garant de la santé publique et de l’environnement, ont fait mieux connaître leur métier à 4'000 visiteurs. Deux expositions itinérantes (OFEV-ECAL) ont également été mises sur pied ainsi qu’un concours de dessin impliquant 600 enfants.

Un enjeu crucial pour le respect de l’environnement, de la santé et de la dignité

Pour les sept partenaires engagés dans cette Campagne suisse sans précédent, l’enjeu est de taille. En effet, dans un des pays les mieux assainis du monde, placer l’assainissement, qui est un droit humain fondamental au même titre que l’accès à l’eau potable, au centre de l’actualité n’est pas a priori une évidence. Et pourtant, l’assainissement est la clé de voûte du développement social et économique. L’assainissement et l’hygiène sont au cœur :

de la dignité humaine et du développement social : 2,6 milliards de personnes n’ont pas d’autre alternative que de déféquer dans des sacs en plastique, le long des routes ou dans des endroits sombres mettant en danger la sécurité des femmes notamment.

de la Santé publique : 5'000 enfants meurent de diarrhée chaque jour dans le monde – 4 fois plus que le SIDA. Les excréments humains jouent un rôle important dans la transmission de nombreuses maladies infectieuse. Le manque d’installations sanitaire appropriées et l’impossibilité de vivre dans de bonnes conditions d’hygiène entraîne de nombreuses maladies telles que la diarrhée, le choléra, la typhoïde.

de l’environnement : chaque année ce sont 200 millions de tonnes de déchets fécaux humains qui sont dispersés dans l’environnement sans traitement. Environ 90% des eaux usées et 70% des déchets industriels dans les pays en développement sont rejetés sans traitement dans des cours d’eau, souvent en polluant les sources d’approvisionnement en eau elles-mêmes. Dans les régions où une forte proportion de la population n’est pas suffisamment desservie en eau salubre et n’a pas un accès adéquat à un système d’assainissement, les eaux usées se déversent directement dans les ruisseaux, rivières, lacs et marais, contaminant de la sorte les écosystèmes côtiers et marins, polluant l’environnement et exposant des millions d’enfants à la maladie.

Au Sud, pas de fatalité mais la nécessité de la solidarité

Des efforts groupés sont nécessaire pour casser le cercle vicieux crée par l’absence d’assainissement : santé précaire, environnement contaminé, pauvreté. A leur échelle, la DDC et le SECO contribuent à réduire de moitié la population mondiale sans installations sanitaires de base. L’assainissement présente une rentabilité économique réelle puisque pour un dollar investis, c’est 3 à 9 dollars de retour d’investissement. L’absence d’assainissement n’est pas une fatalité, comme le montrent plusieurs exemples très prometteurs, notamment au Bangladesh. Mais pour relever ce défi, on a besoin, au Nord, de la solidarité de tous les piliers de la société. C’est le sens de cette Campagne suisse qui s’adresse aux citoyens, pour leur soutien aux ONG actives dans le secteur de l’assainissement, aux communes, pour rejoindre le réseau de coopération Soliarit’eau, aux entreprises, pour soutenir le Fonds Mondial pour l’assainissement.

Genève, capitale mondiale de la santé, abrite le premier Fonds mondial pour l’assainissement

Suite aux recommandations du rapport des Nations Unies pour le Développement Humain de 2006, le Fonds Global a été crée sous l’égide du Conseil de Concertation pour l’Approvisionnement en Eau et l’Assainissement (WSSCC) afin de répondre à la crise sanitaire. Le WSSCC placé sous l’égide de l’OMS, a été fondé en 1990, soutenu entre autres par la DDC qui a accompagné le développement de cet organisme dès sa formation. Le WSSCC, profilé maintenant comme l’agence leader de l’assainissement au niveau mondial, a crée en mars 2008 le Fonds Mondial pour l’Assainissement (GSF). Ce Fonds est un mécanisme financier harmonisé qui d’une part concentrera ses interventions dans les pays les plus pauvres où la demande en assainissement et hygiène est la plus grande et d’autre part permettra la mise à l’échelle de projets/approches ayant démontré leur efficacité dans le cadre de politiques nationales d’assainissement clairement définies par les gouvernements.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site Internet de la campagne : www.assainisement2008.ch et téléchargez la brochure « La santé, l’égalité et la dignité commencent ici », http://www.assainissement2008.ch/fr/info/documentation

Contacts:
François Muenger, SDC, , tel. 031 325 92 52
Press Service of the FOEN, , tel: 031 322 90 00
Pierre Studer, FOPH, , tel: 031 322 95 05
Johan Gély, SECO, , tel: 031 324 08 68
Andri Bryner, EAWAG, , tel: 044 823 51 04
Urs Kupper, VSA, , tel: 043 343 70 72
Vincent Theurillat, GRESE, , tel: 032 422 02 52