Initiatives: Local action
for renewable energy

Powerlight

PowerLight establishes its European headquarters in Geneva

5 July 2006

PowerLight Corporation is a leading global provider of large-scale solar power systems, delivering unmatched experience and proven financial performance to commercial, public sector and residential customers. Since 1995, PowerLight's industry-leading products, technologies and services have enabled its customers to maximize clean energy output along with project savings. Today, PowerLight designs, deploys and operates the largest solar power systems in the world through market-leading innovation and exceptional customer service.

The company has decided to set up its European Headquarters in Geneva to manage the growing development of its activities on the continent. This new addition represents an asset for the Geneva area from the point of view of growth of the economic activities, in conjunction with sustainable development.

PowerLight, a U.S.-based company, is the largest producer of large-scale solar power systems for companies and organizations, and solar power plants, such as the 10 megawatt Bavaria Solarpark. This sphere of activity is growing rapidly; many companies are evaluating their policies and choosing to invest in renewable energy sources.

The company will operate its European business from the new base in Geneva, principally to develop new markets in the southern Europe (i.e. Spain, Italy and Portugal, which have a high amount of sunshine and a correspondingly good profitability potential for solar power), while continue to target Germany, which alone represents the largest market in the world. PowerLight's recent breakthroughs on the European continent, notably the current contract to build the world's largest solar power plant in Serpa (Portugal), confirm the importance of this market.

Marco Northland, General Manager for European Operations, noted: «Geneva was selected because of its accessibility with respect to the principal markets in Europe and of the exceptional quality of life that the canton offers. The Swiss tax conditions were also considered in the choice of the venue.» He also indicated that Geneva's cosmopolitan and international spirit played an important role in the company's decision. Lastly, the proximity of well-known training institutes such as IMD and EPFL were another plus for PowerLight, which intends to recruit intensively on the local labor market. The company is now located on Avenue Cardinal Mermillod in central Carouge and counts on employing a local workforce of around 20 persons by 2006-2007.

Pierre-Franзois Unger, Minister of economy and health, noted that «the arrival of PowerLight reinforces Geneva's position in the area of renewable energies and sustainable development in the larger sense. This high-added-value company with an equally high technological level will dispose of favorable conditions in Geneva. Indeed, the important presence of well-known research institutions, international organizations, NGOs and other companies involved in energy technologies will help strengthen PowerLight's position.»

Geneva's economic development office supported the company's establishment. «The Office assisted PowerLight by facilitating the search for office space, requests for permits and clarifying work legislation. We also convincingly demonstrated Geneva's specific advantages for a firm such as PowerLight. Lastly, the Office helped it to join up with a local network of specialists in the same field», said Pierre Jaquier, head of Geneva's Economic Development Office.

www.powerlight.com
PowerLight (french version)

PowerLight crée un centre à Genève pour
l'ensemble de ses activités en Europe

Powerlight

PowerLight crée un centre à Genève pour l'ensemble de ses activités en Europe

PowerLight, leader mondial des installations d'énergie solaire pour les entreprises, a retenu Genève pour établir son quartier général européen et gérer le développement croissant de ses activités en Europe. Ce nouveau siège représente un atout pour la région genevoise dans une perspective de croissance des activités économiques liées au développement durable.

PowerLight, entreprise d'origine américaine, est, pour les entreprises et organisations, le plus grand producteur de systèmes solaires et de grandes installations photovoltaïques telles que le "Bavaria Solarark", doté d'une capacité de 10 mégawatts. Ce domaine d'activité est en plein essor, de très nombreuses entreprises reconsidérant leur politique énergétique et choisissant d'investir dans les énergies renouvelables.

PowerLight entend développer depuis Genève ce marché porteur et prévoit de couvrir principalement les besoins des pays du Sud de l'Europe (Espagne, Italie et Portugal, pays à très fort niveau d'ensoleillement et donc avec un taux de rentabilité important des installations) mais aussi des pays tels que l'Allemagne qui représente à elle seule le deuxième plus grand marché après le Japon. Les succès récents de PowerLight sur le marché européen, notamment la construction de la plus grande installation d'énergie solaire à Serpa (Portugal), confirment l'importance de ce marché.

Pour Marco Northland, Directeur Général Europe de Powerlight, "Genève a été retenue en raison de son accès facilité aux principaux marchés en Europe et de la qualité de vie exceptionnelle offerte par le canton. Les conditions fiscales suisses ont également été prises en compte dans ce choix de localisation." Par ailleurs M. Northland a souligné que l'esprit international et cosmopolite de Genève a joué un rôle important dans la décision de la société. Enfin, la proximité d'instituts de formation renommés tels que l'IMD et l'EPFL représente un atout important pour PowerLight qui compte recruter de manière intensive sur la place locale. La société est actuellement installée au coeur de Carouge à l'avenue Cardinal Mermillod et prévoit d'employer environ 20 collaborateurs localement entre 2006 et 2007.

Pierre-François Unger, chef du Département de l'économie et de la santé, a souligné que "le canton de Genève se distingue par sa politique active pour promouvoir le solaire photovoltaïque. Il offre ainsi un cadre promotionnel attractif pour PowerLight. La venue de cette entreprise renforce la position de Genève dans les énergies renouvelables et les technologies du développement durable au sens large. Cette entreprise à forte valeur ajoutée et à haut niveau de technicité va disposer à Genève de conditions cadres favorables. En effet, la proximité d'instituts de recherche réputés, d'organisations internationales, d'ONGs et de nombreuses autres entreprises actives dans les technologies énergétiques va contribuer à renforcer le positionnement de PowerLight dans le marché."

La promotion économique de Genève a soutenu la société dans le cadre de son installation. "L'Office a aidé PowerLight dans ses démarches sur le plan local, entre autre dans la recherche de bureaux, les demandes de permis et la compréhension de la législation sur le travail. Nous avons également présenté les opportunités spécifiques de la place genevoise pour des entreprises telles que PowerLight. Enfin, l'Office a aidé la société à s'intégrer dans un réseau de professionnels locaux dans son secteur d'activité", a signalé Pierre Jaquier, responsable de l'Office de la promotion économique du canton.

www.powerlight.com