Partnerships with the private sector:
Industry practices

Alan Bryden

Alan Bryden, Secretary-General ISO (International Organization for Standardization)

Alan Bryden became Secretary-General of ISO on 1 March 2003. He began his career in metrology, notably with the USA's National Bureau of Standards (today the National Institute of Standards and Technology) and has a strong background in quality and the rational use of energy. He was previously Director General of the French national standards body, AFNOR, and Vice-President of the first Committee on Technical Barriers to Trade in GATT (now WTO).

ISO

ISO 14001 and ISO's toolbox for sustainable development

The ISO 14000 family of standards - of which the best known is the ISO 14001 standard for environmental management systems - includes new standards for quantifying greenhouse gas emissions, verifying and validating claims made about them, and supporting emissions trading.

Today, the environment is on the agenda of almost everyone - business, government and society at large. To meet their environmental challenges, organizations everywhere, including the world's major business corporations, have made the ISO 14001 standard one of their principal tools.

At the same time, even young children can grasp the rudiments of ISO 14001 and are keen to participate in environmental programs such as:

ISO 14001 was developed by ISO technical committee ISO/TC 207, which was launched in 1993 to develop a holistic family of environmental management standards. Today, 70 countries participate in ISO/TC 207, along with another 27 as observers and 39 international or regional organizations, including UNCTAD, UNEP, WHO and WTO. The national delegations comprise environmental experts from business and industry, government, non-governmental organizations and technical bodies. Partnership is further encouraged by twinning ISO/TC 207 leadership positions between developed and developing countries.

The latest standards in the ISO 14000 family are ISO 14064, which provides requirements for organizations or persons to quantify and verify greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions, and ISO 14065, which specifies accreditation requirements for organizations that validate or verify resulting GHG emission assertions or claims.

Claims made about reductions of the greenhouse gas emissions widely held responsible for climate change may have political and financial implications, in addition to environmental and technical ones. Ensuring their credibility is thus vital, for example in emissions trading schemes. Therefore, ISO has combined its environmental and conformity assessment expertise to develop ISO 14064 and ISO 14065.

So far, ISO/TC 207 has developed 22 International Standards or related documents. Of these, ISO 14001, which was first released in 1996, is the best known. It gives the requirements for environmental management systems (EMS).

At the end of 2005, more than 111,000 certificates of conformity to ISO 14001 had been issued in 138 countries for environmental management systems operated by organizations large and small, in manufacturing and services, in public and private sectors. The standard is now thoroughly integrated with the global economy in roles such as the following:

The standard is likewise integrated in the rise of services in the global economy - 31% of ISO 14001 certificates in 2005 went to organizations in the service sectors, and in the transfer of good practice to developing countries and transition economies.

Other standards and guidelines in the ISO 14000 family address specific environmental aspects, including: environmental labeling, performance evaluation, life-cycle analysis, communication and auditing.

The ISO 14000 family is the most visible part of ISO's work for the environment. However, ISO also offers a wide-ranging portfolio of standardized sampling, testing and analytical methods for the monitoring of such aspects as the quality of air, water and soil. These standards are a means of providing business and government with scientifically valid data on the environmental effects of economic activity.

Taken as a whole, ISO's current portfolio of some 16,500 standards has even more to offer. Its standards for products, services, materials, systems and good practice promote efficiency and effectiveness in economic activities, while standards relating to health, safety and security, and new work on social responsibility have clear societal benefits.

ISO International Standards therefore constitute a toolbox not only for the environmental integrity of the planet, but also for economic growth and social equity - in other words, for all three dimensions of sustainable development.

www.iso.org

Partenariats avec le secteur privé:
les pratiques des industries

Alan Bryden

Alan Bryden, Secrétaire général de l'ISO (Organisation internationale de normalisation)

Alan Bryden a été nommé Secrétaire général de l'ISO le 1er mars 2003. Il a commencé sa carrière comme métrologiste, notamment auprès du National Bureau of Standards des États-Unis (rebaptisé National Institute of Standards and Technology) et il a une bonne expérience de la qualité et de l'utilisation rationnelle de l'énergie. Il a aussi occupé les postes de Directeur général de l'AFNOR, l'Association nationale française de normalisation, et de Vice-président du premier Comité des obstacles techniques au commerce du GATT (aujourd'hui OMC).

ISO et autres

L'ISO 14001 et la panoplie ISO pour le développement durable

La famille des normes ISO 14000 - la plus connue étant la norme ISO 14001 qui porte sur les systèmes de management environnemental - comprend de nouvelles normes permettant de quantifier les émissions de gaz à effet de serre, de vérifier et de valider les déclarations, et de soutenir les échanges de droits d'émission.

Aujourd'hui, l'environnement est à l'ordre du jour pratiquement partout - dans le monde des affaires, au sein du gouvernement et dans la société en général. Pour relever les défis environnementaux, les organisations du monde entier, y compris les grandes sociétés commerciales et industrielles, ont fait de la norme ISO 14001 l'un de leurs principaux outils.

Qui plus est, même les jeunes enfants sont capables de comprendre es rudiments de la norme ISO 14001 et aspirent à participer à des programmes de protection de l'environnement tels que:

La norme ISO 14001 a été élaborée par le comité technique ISO/TC 207, créé en 1993 et chargé d'élaborer une famille globale et intégrée de normes de management environnemental. Aujourd'hui, 70 pays participent au comité ISO/TC 207 qui compte encore 27 autres pays ayant le statut d'observateurs et 39 organisations internationales ou régionales comme la CNUCED, l'OMC, l'OMS et le PNUE. Les délégations nationales sont composées d'experts de l'environnement du secteur commercial ou industriel, du gouvernement, d'organisations non gouvernementales et d'organes techniques. Les partenariats sont encouragés en jumelant des postes à responsabilité auprès de l'ISO/TC 207 de pays développés avec des pays en développement.

Les normes les plus récentes de la famille ISO 14000 sont l'ISO 14064, sur la déclaration et la vérification des émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES), et l'ISO 14065, qui précise les exigences pour les organismes de validation ou de vérification des GES à utiliser dans l'accréditation.

Les déclarations de réductions des émissions de gaz à effet de serre, lesquels sont largement responsables du changement climatique, peuvent avoir des incidences politiques et financières en plus de leurs répercussions écologiques et techniques. Il est donc essentiel de vérifier leur crédibilité, par exemple dans le contexte des programmes d'échanges des droits d'émission. L'ISO a donc combiné savoir-faire environnemental et expertise en matière d'évaluation de la conformité pour créer les normes ISO 14064 et ISO 14065.

Jusqu'à présent, l'ISO/TC 207 a élaboré 22 normes internationales ou documents connexes. La norme ISO 14001, présentée pour la première fois en 1996, est la plus connue: elle précise les exigences en matière de systèmes de management environnemental.

À la fin de 2005, plus de 111 000 certificats de conformité à la norme ISO 14001 avaient été délivrés dans 138 pays pour des systèmes de management environnemental mis en place par des organisations, petites et grandes, dans la production industrielle et les services, secteurs public et privé confondus. La norme est totalement intégrée aujourd'hui dans l'économie mondiale, son rôle étant:

De plus, la norme est intégrée dans la montée des services dans l'économie mondiale - 31% des certificats ISO 14001 délivrés en 2005 sont allés à des organisations travaillant dans le secteur des services et dans le transfert de bonnes pratiques vers des pays en développement et à économie en transition.

D'autres normes et lignes directrices de la famille ISO 14000 portent sur des aspects spécifiques de l'environnement, notamment: l'étiquetage écologique, l'évaluation des performances, l'analyse du cycle de vie, la communication et l'audit.

La famille ISO 14000 est la partie la plus visible des travaux de l'ISO relatifs à l'environnement. Toutefois, l'ISO propose également tout un éventail de méthodes d'échantillonnage, de tests et d'analyses pour la surveillance continue de certains aspects, tels que la qualité de l'air, de l'eau et des sols. Ces normes fournissent aux entreprises et aux gouvernements des données scientifiquement valides relatives aux effets de l'activité économique sur l'environnement.

Dans son ensemble, la gamme actuelle des produits de l'ISO, avec près de 16 500 normes, a beaucoup plus à offrir. Les normes qui s'appliquent aux produits, aux services, aux matériels, aux systèmes et aux bonnes pratiques favorisent l'efficacité et la productivité des activités économiques, tandis que les normes s'appliquant à la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité, sans oublier les nouveaux travaux relatifs à la responsabilité sociale, ont des avantages pour la société qui ne sont plus à démontrer.

La panoplie des normes internationales ISO garantit donc l'intégrité de l'environnement de la planète, tout en favorisant la croissance économique et l'équité sociale - en d'autres termes, elle soutient les trois piliers du développement durable.

www.iso.org