Interlinkages

Paul Garnier

Paul Garnier, Swiss mission in Geneva

Paul Garnier is coordinator of the «Partnerships for the Planet» project and Diplomatic Counsellor in the Permanent Mission of Switzerland to the United Nations Office at Geneva and the other international organizations in Geneva

Introduction

Environmental linkages with the economy and social issues

Environment has now become a major part of the political agenda. Thus we have the Director-General of the World Trade Organization emphasizing the importance of the environment, a pioneer of eco-efficiency in business talking about the social conditions needed for sustainable development, the former head of WWF-International pointing to the basic conditions for responsible consumerism, and UNEP focusing on payments for ecosystem services.

Similarly, we find the WHO working with UNEP on chemicals safety issues and with UNECE on the Water and Health Convention, WMO focusing on the societal benefits of its meteorological work, and international relief agencies establishing themselves in Geneva to be in touch with the disaster prevention, humanitarian aid and development agencies in the region. The recognition of interdependence between public sectors, business and civil society is only likely to grow as synergies between these groups show themselves to be essential and pay dividends in multiplying the effects of coordinated action.

By exploring the links between the environmental pillar and the two other pillars of sustainable development that are economy and social development, one can see both the variety of activities taking place and the potential. New examples include the nexus, increasingly promoted, between environment and poverty reduction as well as between environmental law and human rights law. This capacity to bring together different worlds is the value-added and the strength of Geneva. It also makes Geneva an ideal place to foster public participation and global governance, the «new» pillars of a solid sustainable development, as represented in the sustainable development «pyramid» of Professor Andrаs November of IUED.

However, the challenge for organizations is to resist cosmetic work demanded to please stakeholders or memorandums of understanding whose only objective is to keep out of each other's way. Instead, they must concentrate on the practical work that will enable their partnerships to achieve clear objectives. There is obviously still scope for improvement, but Geneva is a good laboratory to test and implement coherence and cooperation among institutions.

Interactions

Paul Garnier

Paul Garnier, Mission suisse à Genève

Paul Garnier, est le coordonnateur du projet «Partenariats pour la Planète» et Conseiller diplomatique à la Mission permanente de la Suisse auprès de l'Office des Nations Unies à Genève.

Introduction

Les interactions de l'environnement avec l'économie et le social

L'environnement occupe désormais une place essentielle dans l'agenda politique. C'est ainsi que nous voyons le Directeur général de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce relever l'importance de l'environnement, un pionnier de l'éco-efficacité du monde des affaires parler des conditions sociales nécessaires au développement durable, l'ancien responsable du WWF International insister sur les conditions de base pour une consommation responsable et le PNUE mettre l'accent sur le paiement des services écosystémiques.

De la même façon, nous voyons l'OMS collaborer avec le PNUE en matière de sécurité chimique, et avec la CEE-ONU concernant la Convention sur l'eau et la santé, l'OMM insister sur les avantages que ses activités apportent à la société et des organismes internationaux de secours venir s'établir à Genève pour être proches des agences de prévention des catastrophes, d'aide humanitaire et de développement implantées dans la région. La prise de conscience de l'interdépendance du secteur public, du secteur privé et de la société civile ne pourra s'accroître que si les synergies entre ces différents groupes se révèlent essentielles et productives grâce à un effet multiplicateur de l'action coordonnée.

En étudiant les interactions entre le pilier Environnement et les deux autres piliers du développement durable - Économie et Social - nous apercevons la formidable diversité des activités en cours et leur potentiel. Parmi les nouveaux exemples figurent le lien, de plus en plus concret, entre l'environnement et la réduction de la pauvreté, ainsi qu'entre le droit de l'environnement et les droits de l'homme. Cette capacité à réunir des mondes différents constitue la plus-value et la force de Genève et en fait aussi un lieu idéal pour encourager la participation du public et la gouvernance mondiale, les deux nouveaux piliers d'un développement durable solide, comme le représente la «pyramide» du développement durable du Professeur Andràs November, de l'IUED.

Toutefois, la difficulté pour les organisations consiste à ne pas se laisser aller à des mesures de façade pour plaire aux parties prenantes ou à des protocoles d'entente dont le seul objectif est de se mettre à l'abri les uns et des autres, mais plutôt à se concentrer sur un travail de fond qui permettra à leurs partenariats de réaliser des objectifs précis. Bien qu'il reste encore des progrès à accomplir, Genève est certainement un excellent laboratoire pour tester et concrétiser la cohésion et la coopération entre les institutions.