Alliances between international organizations

GEOSS has been designed to lead to comprehensive, coordinated and sustained observations across many different disciplines, and the benefits of such alliances are already proven.

Josй Achache

Josй Achache,
Director of the Secretariat for the Group on EarthObservations

Josй Achache is a former Director of Earth Observation for the European Space Agency (ESA). While there, he initiated the Global Monitoring for Environment and Security (GMES) program in partnership with the European Commission. The GEO Secretariat was established in May 2005 in Geneva and he became its first director in September 2005.

GEO

Getting the facts to set policies

One of the most promising alliances coordinated from Geneva aims to improve disaster prevention, adaptation to global changes and resource management planning. It works through a partnership of countries and organizations gathering observations of the Earth.

Q: How would you describe GEO's main objective?

A: The Group on Earth Observations has been established to coordinate all existing and future Earth observation systems to increase their efficiency and use. In their efforts to control environmental change and reduce disasters through better understanding of how the Earth works as a system, people have developed numerous ways of gathering information: satellites, buoys, seismometers and other devices. These observations of the Earth are transformed through computers and models into forecasts, maps and other decision-support tools.

All these observations systems speak different languages. They use different formats, produce different data and have different reference frames. GEO will get these systems to deliver comprehensive, coordinated and sustained observations that everyone can use - to get these disparate and disconnected systems speaking the same language.

Q: And how will you judge your success?

A: The objective of this 10-year coordination effort among 68 countries, the European Commission and 46 international organizations, including many UN agencies, is to establish what we have named the Global Earth Observation System of Systems (GEOSS). GEOSS will be successful only if the observations and integrated information it makes possible are put to good use, and that in turn means adopting a user focus. The communities that need to use Earth observations range from decision-makers and policy-makers to scientists, industry, reinsurance companies, emergency response specialists, international organizations, non-governmental organizations, the media and the general public.

Earth observations and integrated information must be put to good use, and that means focusing on the user.

For this reason, we are giving priority to the development of a Web portal open to all this variety of potential users. Because we recognize that not all users will be expert in using modern observation systems, the portal will include training modules and offer the technologies of interactive online software and services that are known as Web 2.0. In parallel, we are of course working on the technical issues of interoperability of systems and data collation.

Q: How does tying these observations together help in sustainable development?

A: This is a key point. The international community recognizes that understanding the Earth system - its weather, climate, oceans, atmosphere, water, land, geodynamics, natural resources, ecosystems, and natural and human-induced hazards - is crucial to enhancing human health, safety and welfare, to alleviating human suffering including poverty, to protecting the global environment, to reducing disaster losses and achieving sustainable development. The Earth is a system of systems. Understanding one process requires observations of many connected phenomena. Conversely, a single observation is needed for many different uses. By recognizing these synergies, GEOSS will deliver more value for money than a series of disparate systems.

Q: It sounds as if GEOSS has a lot to contribute to science...

A: GEOSS can make a critical contribution to our understanding of Earth by enabling scientists to analyze underlying processes, to connect disciplines, to develop models that make it possible to bring together data. In turn, such scientific advances will contribute to sustainable development by improving applications and forecasting systems. This is how GEO will make Earth observations useful to those who need them, whether to improve our understanding or help make better decisions.

www.earthobservations.org

Alliances entre organisations internationales

GEOSS a été conçu de façon à permettre une observation complète, coordonée et permanente, dans une perspective interdisciplinaire. Les avantages de telles alliances ont déjà été prouvés.

José Achache

José Achache,
Directeur du Secrétariat du Groupe des observations de la Terre

José Achache est l'ancien Directeur du Programme d'observation de la Terre de l'Agence spatiale européenne (ASE). C'est dans ce cadre qu'il a lancé, avec la Commission européenne, l'initiative de «Surveillance globale pour l'environnement et la sécurité» (GMES). En septembre 2005, il est devenu le premier directeur du Secrétariat de GEO, établi à Genève depuis mai 2005.

GEO

Obtenir des renseignements précis pour formuler les politiques

L'une des alliances les plus prometteuses coordonnées à partir de Genève vise à améliorer la prévention des catastrophes, l'adaptation aux changements mondiaux et la planification de la gestion des ressources. Elle agit par le biais d'un partenariat de pays et d'organisations qui rassemblent des observations de la Terre.

Q: Comment décririez-vous l'objectif premier de GEO?

A: Le Groupe des observations de la Terre a été créé pour coordonner l'ensemble des systèmes d'observation de la Terre, existants et à venir, dans le but d'améliorer leur efficacité et leur utilisation. Pour lutter contre les changements environnementaux et réduire les catastrophes naturelles par une meilleure compréhension du fonctionnement de la Terre en tant que système, nous avons mis en place toute une série d'instruments de collecte d'information: satellites, bouées, sismomètres et autres. Ces observations de la Terre sont transformées, au moyen d'ordinateurs et de modèles, pour l'établissement de prévisions, de cartes et autres outils d'aide à la décision.

Tous ces systèmes d'observation utilisent un langage différent. Ils se distinguent les uns des autres par leur présentation, les données qu'ils produisent et leur cadre de référence. GEO a pour objectif que ces systèmes fournissent des observations complètes, coordonnées et permanentes, accessibles à tous - et que ces instruments disparates et décousus parlent le même langage.

Q: Comment évaluerez-vous votre réussite?

A: L'objectif de cet effort de coordination qui porte sur 10 ans et englobe 68 pays, la Commission européenne et 46 organisations internationales, dont beaucoup d'organismes des Nations Unies, est d'établir ce que nous avons baptisé le Système mondial des systèmes d'observation de la Terre (GEOSS). GEOSS ne sera couronné de succès que si les utilisateurs tirent le meilleur parti des observations et des informations intégrées qu'il permet de recueillir, d'où l'importance de l'approche axée sur les utilisateurs. Au nombre des acteurs appelés à utiliser les observations de la Terre figurent les décideurs, les responsables politiques, les scientifiques, les entreprises, les sociétés de réassurance, les spécialistes des interventions d'urgence, les organisations internationales, les organisations non gouvernementales et le grand public.

Les observations de la Terre et les informations intégrées doivent être utilisées à bon escient, c'est-à-dire en privilégiant l'usager.

Voila pourquoi nous accordons la priorité à l'établissement d'un portail Internet ouvert à tous ces différents utilisateurs potentiels. Parce que nous savons qu'ils ne sont pas tous aguerris à l'utilisation des systèmes d'observation modernes, ce portail offrira des modules de formation et la technologie des logiciels et services interactifs en ligne connus sous le nom de Web 2.0. Parallèlement, nous étudions bien entendu les problèmes techniques de l'interopérabilité des systèmes et de la collecte des données.

Q: En quoi le fait de rassembler ces observations contribue-t-il au développement durable?

A: Vous touchez là à un point essentiel. La communauté internationale reconnaît que la compréhension des systèmes terrestres - météorologie, climats, océans, atmosphère, eau, sols, géodynamique, ressources naturelles, écosystèmes, et risques naturels ou d'origine humaine - est primordiale pour améliorer la santé, la sécurité et le bien-être de l'homme, pour alléger les souffrances humaines, y compris la pauvreté, pour protéger l'environnement mondial, pour réduire les pertes causées par les catastrophes naturelles et pour parvenir au développement durable. La Terre est un système de systèmes. La compréhension d'un de ces systèmes passe par l'observation de nombreux phénomènes interdépendants. En revanche, une seule observation suffit à de nombreuses utilisations différentes. En reconnaissant ces synergies, GEOSS sera plus rentable et plus efficace qu'une série de systèmes disparates.

Q: Il semble que GEOSS ait beaucoup à apporter à la science...

A: GEOSS peut apporter une contribution de taille à notre compréhension de la Terre en permettant aux scientifiques d'analyser les processus sous-jacents, de relier les disciplines entre elles, et de créer des modèles de collecte de données. Ces progrès scientifiques contribueront à leur tour au développement durable par une amélioration des applications et des systèmes de prévision. Voilà comment le GEO mettra les observations de la Terre à la portée de celles et ceux qui en ont besoin, que ce soit pour approfondir leurs connaissances ou pour prendre des décisions plus éclairées.

www.earthobservations.org