Sustainable development:
Economy and the environment

Hussein Abaza

Hussein Abaza, UNEP

Hussein Abaza is Chief of the Economics and Trade Branch (ETB) of UNEP.

Linkages between ecosystem services and constituents of well-being

UNEP

Payments for ecosystem services

UNEP's work on payments for ecosystem services (PES) illustrates how Geneva provides the facility to explore new ideas without requiring formal negotiations and definitive conclusions from every meeting, while mapping out a path for future developments.

The many natural processes in the environment that are essential to human well-being are often referred to as «ecosystem services». The Millennium Ecosystem Assessment (MA), a comprehensive study of the state of the global environment, has warned that 60 to 70% of these ecosystem services are deteriorating, whether production of oxygen, purification of water and air, regulation of global climate, or maintenance of biological and genetic diversity.

The concept of Payments for Ecosystem Services (PES) - of establishing a compensation mechanism for beneficiaries of such services to pay local communities for maintaining these services - has received more and more attention in recent years from researchers, conservation NGOs, governments and the private sector. An increasing number of PES pilot projects are now being carried out in different parts of the world. However, there is also a growing need for a global framework within which these schemes can be institutionalized.

To explore ways to bridge this gap, a workshop on International Payments for Ecosystem Services took place in Geneva on 12 and 13 September 2006. Experts from academia, the private sector, governments, international organizations and NGOs came together to discuss implementing PES at the international level. The event was hosted jointly by the UNEP ETB and the World Conservation Union (IUCN), in close collaboration with the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD), and supported by the German government. The objective was to identify actions - including research, international consultation and application - that could be taken collectively.

It was agreed that future work should focus on biodiversity, while maximizing the potential for bundling services together (for example, climate change mitigation through forest conservation).

The ethical and equity challenges of creating markets for ecosystem services will need to be adequately assessed, it was agreed: the cost to local communities is often not factored into the cost of conservation.

However, the high marketing value of biodiversity is seen as having significant potential for increasing private demand for ecosystem services, with the tourism industry a potential client. The establishment of an international network of protected areas has also been suggested as a promising way of attracting payments for biodiversity conservation.

Participants noted many opportunities for biodiversity conservation efforts to benefit from the PES model. Indeed, there is hope that the «carbon markets» resulting from the Kyoto agreement and setting quotas for national CO2 emissions might include qualitative criteria, providing stronger incentives for protecting forest areas that have high levels of biodiversity. Recent developments in climate change policy have given rise to several PES and PES-like projects. Emissions trading is becoming more widespread, and carbon sequestration projects are also becoming more common. Many have risen out of the Kyoto Protocol's Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) and Joint Implementation (JI) projects. As the global carbon market continues to grow and attract attention, many researchers and practitioners are attempting to apply the concept of PES to environmental challenges such as loss of biodiversity.

In its final session, the group drafted a plan of action for scaling up PES in the coming years to complement other incentive and control measures.

www.unep.ch

Développement durable:
l'économie et l'environnement

Hussein Abaza

Hussein Abaza, UNEP

Hussein Abaza est responsable de la Section économique et commerciale (ETB) du PNUE.

Linkages between ecosystem services and constituents of well-being

PNUE

Paiement des services rendus par les écosystèmes (PSE)

Le travail du PNUE relatif au paiement des services rendus par les écosystèmes montre comment Genève permet d'explorer de nouvelles idées sans exiger de négociations formelles ou de conclusions définitives à chaque réunion, tout en traçant la voie vers d'autres réussites.

Les nombreux processus naturels indispensables au bien-être de l'homme sont souvent appelés «services rendus par les écosystèmes» ou encore «services écosystémiques». L'Évaluation des écosystèmes au début du millénaire, par une étude approfondie de l'état de l'environnement mondial, a mis en garde que 60 à 70% des services écosystémiques étaient en train de se détériorer, qu'il s'agisse de a production d'oxygène, de la purification de l'eau et de l'air, de la régulation du climat mondial ou de la préservation de la diversité biologique et génétique.

Le concept de paiement des services rendus par les écosystèmes (PSE) - consistant à établir un mécanisme compensatoire de telle sorte que les bénéficiaires des services paient des redevances aux communautés locales pour les maintenir en état - intéresse de plus en plus les chercheurs, les ONG environnementales, les gouvernements et le secteur privé sachant que les projets pilotes animés par cette idée se multiplient aux quatre coins du monde. Mais la nécessité d'établir un cadre mondial pour institutionnaliser ces projets est de plus en plus évidente.

Un atelier sur les paiements internationaux des services rendus par les écosystèmes a été organisé à Genève les 12 et 13 septembre 2006, pour étudier les moyens de combler cette lacune. Des spécialistes représentant les universités, le secteur privé, les gouvernements, les organisations internationales et les ONG se sont réunis pour discuter de la mise en oeuvre du paiement des services rendus par les écosystèmes à l'échelle internationale. Cette réunion a été parrainée par le PNUE/ETB et l'Union mondiale pour la nature (UICN), en étroite collaboration avec la Convention sur la diversité biologique (CDB), avec l'appui du Gouvernement allemand. Objectif visé: définir une action - y compris recherche, consultation et application internationales - susceptible d'être menée collectivement.

Il a été convenu que les activités à venir se concentreraient sur la biodiversité, tout en exploitant au maximum les possibilités de regrouper les services (par exemple, l'atténuation des changements climatiques par la conservation des forêts). Les défis que pose la création de marchés pour les services écosystémiques du point de vue de l'éthique et de l'équité devront être analysés avec soin: le coût pour les communautés locales n'est souvent pas pris en compte dans le coût de la conservation.

On considère toutefois que la valeur commerciale élevée de la diversité biologique suffit pour accroître la demande privée de services écosystémiques, dont l'industrie du tourisme est un client potentiel. Il a également été suggéré que l'établissement d'un réseau international d'aires protégées était un moyen prometteur d'attirer des paiements pour la conservation de la diversité biologique.

Les participants ont relevé les nombreuses possibilités d'oeuvrer en faveur de la diversité biologique qui pourraient bénéficier du modèle de PSE. Il est à espérer que les «marchés du carbone» résultant de l'accord de Kyoto et de l'établissement de quotas pour les émissions nationales de CO2 incluront des critères qualitatifs, offrant ainsi des incitations plus fortes à préserver les zones forestières riches en biodiversité. Les événements survenus récemment dans la politique relative aux changements climatiques ont débouché sur plusieurs projets PSE ou similaires. Le système d'échange de droits d'émission est en train de gagner du terrain et les projets de fixation du carbone sont plus courants. Nombre d'entre eux sont nés des projets liés aux mécanismes du Protocole de Kyoto [mise en oeuvre conjointe (MOC) et mécanisme de développement propre (MD)] du Protocole de Kyoto. Tandis que le marché mondial du carbone se développe et attire l'attention, nombre de chercheurs et de praticiens essaient d'appliquer le concept du PSE à des défis écologiques tels que la perte de biodiversité.

www.unep.ch