Alliances between international organizations

Gaetano Leone

Gaetano Leone, UNEP

Gaetano Leone is Officer-in-Charge at the Regional Office for Europe at UNEP Geneva.

UNEP in Europe

Europe remains a critical region for UNEP

One of six regional offices, UNEP Geneva is home to the Regional Office for Europe, responsible for supporting the regional delivery of UNEP's program and building partnerships with governments and civil society.

Headquartered in Nairobi, Kenya, the United Nations Environment Programme relies on its six regional offices to ensure that its activities respond to the particular needs of each region. While each part of the world is special in its own way, what makes Europe unique for UNEP is that so many substantive activities and treaty secretariats are based here.

In addition to the many UNEP offices established in Geneva at the International Environment House, UNEP maintains its Division for Technology, Industry and Economics (DTIE) in Paris and its Global Programme of Action on Land-based Sources of Pollution (GPA) in The Hague. Other UNEP-linked offices in the region are hosted in Arendal, Norway; Riso, Denmark; Athens, Greece; and Vienna, Austria. The Geneva-based Regional Office for Europe (ROE) also maintains liaison offices in Brussels (for the EU) and Moscow.

Like its counterparts elsewhere, the Regional Office for Europe is tasked with promoting coherence among UNEP's diverse activities in the region. Many of these activities are managed from the divisions located at headquarters, but ROE often plays a direct role in their regional delivery. The office also liaises with European governments, which are invaluable supporters of UNEP's program and mandate, and with other UN bodies based in the region.

UNEP's dense European network of offices and activities creates many opportunities for building partnerships with governments, nongovernmental organizations and other intergovernmental bodies. Many of these partners support UNEP by, for example, providing inputs into the Global Environmental Outlook (GEO) process or helping to prepare the annual Civil Society Forum.

UNEP ROE collaborates with the International Olympic Committee on the greening of the Olympics.

Much of UNEP's focus in Europe is directed toward supporting the Balkans sub-region as well as the so-called EECCA countries of Eastern Europe, the Caucasus and Central Asia. This involves providing technical assistance, training and advisory services on a wide range of issues. Key partners in this work include UNDP, the UN Economic Commission for Europe, the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), the World Conservation Union (IUCN), WWF-International, the Regional Environmental Centre (REC) and of course the European Union.

In addition to these dynamic relationships, UNEP also maintains a special network of some 30 partners known as UNEP National Committees. Representing a wide range of constituencies committed to environmental objectives, these multi-stakeholder organizations include environmental and development NGOs, UN Associations, news media, industry and labor, the scientific community, women, youth, indigenous peoples' organizations, community groups, governments and prominent individuals.

National committees are channels for communicating with the general public in each country. They help to increase public awareness of UNEP's mandate and mission, promote public support for UNEP's work, draw attention to global, regional and national environmental problems and concerns, and mobilize resources for the solution of environmental problems. The committees also assist UNEP in organizing special events, public information campaigns and workshops on various environmental issues.

While each of UNEP's various European-based convention secretariats and substantive offices focuses on its specific mandate, the Regional Office for Europe has a much broader remit for promoting UNEP's general interests. This includes fostering partnerships and promoting public awareness.

For example, ROE organizes World Environment Day celebrations every year on 5 June, makes presentations to the permanent diplomatic missions, reaches out to civil society audiences such as student groups and collaborates with the International Olympic Committee on the greening of the Olympics. It also implements substantive projects in the fields of environment and security and sustainable consumption and production and supports the Environment for Europe process.

Europe is clearly set to remain a critical region for UNEP as a source of funding, expertise and partnerships. But UNEP is also committed to giving back to the region as much as it receives through innovative projects and the ongoing regional dialogue on how Europe can best contribute to protecting the global environment.

www.unep.ch

Alliances entre organisations internationales

Gaetano Leone

Gaetano Leone, UNEP

Gaetano Leone est responsable du Bureau régional pour l'Europe du PNUE à Genève.

Le PNUE en Europe

L'Europe demeure une région cruciale pour le PNUE

Parmi les six bureaux régionaux dont s'est doté le PNUE, celui de Genève - le Bureau régional pour l'Europe (BRE) est chargé d'appuyer la mise en oeuvre du programme du PNUE en Europe et d'établir des partenariats avec les gouvernements et la société civile.

Le Programme des Nations Unies pour l'environnement, dont le siège se trouve à Nairobi, Kenya, s'appuie sur ses six bureaux régionaux pour garantir que ses activités répondent aux besoins particuliers de chaque région. Si chaque région a ses propres particularités, ce qui rend l'Europe unique pour le PNUE, ce sont les nombreuses activités de fond et les secrétariats de conventions qui se trouvent à Genève.

Outre ses nombreux bureaux situés à la Maison internationale de l'environnement à Genève, le PNUE possède une Division Technologie, Industrie et Economie (DTIE) à Paris et un Programme d'action mondial pour la protection du milieu marin contre la pollution due aux activités terrestres (GPA) à la Haye. Il peut également compter sur d'autres services à Arendal, Norvège; à Riso, Danemark; à Athènes, Grèce; et à Vienne, Autriche. Le Bureau régional pour l'Europe (BRE), installé à Genève, gère également des bureaux de liaison à Bruxelles (pour l'UE) et à Moscou.

À l'instar des autres bureaux régionaux, le Bureau régional pour l'Europe est chargé de promouvoir la cohérence entre les diverses activités du PNUE dans la région. Si une grande partie de ces activités sont gérées à partir du siège, à Nairobi, le BRE est souvent appelé à contribuer directement à leur mise en oeuvre régionale. Ce bureau assure aussi la liaison avec les gouvernements européens, qui apportent un soutien très précieux au programme et au mandat du PNUE, ainsi qu'avec d'autres organismes des Nations Unies situés dans la région.

Le réseau dense de bureaux et d'activités du PNUE en Europe constitue un atout non négligeable pour l'établissement de partenariats avec les gouvernements, les organisations non gouvernementales et d'autres organismes intergouvernementaux. Le PNUE bénéficie de l'appui de nombreux partenaires, notamment pour préparer sa publication GEO (L'avenir de l'environnement mondial) ou ses forums annuels pour la société civile.

Le PNUE/BRE collabore avec le Comité olympique international à promouvoir le concept de «Jeux olympiques verts».

En Europe, le PNUE axe une grande partie de ses activités sur l'appui à la sous-région des Balkans dite région EECCA (Europe de l'Est, Caucase et Asie centrale). Il s'agit de fournir une assistance technique, des cours de formation et des services consultatifs sur différents thèmes. Parmi ses principaux partenaires à cet égard figurent le PNUD, la Commission économique des Nations Unies pour l'Europe (CEE-ONU), l'Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE), l'Union mondiale pour la nature (UICN), le WWF International, le Centre régional pour l'environnement (CRE) et, bien entendu, l'Union européenne.

À part ces relations dynamiques, le PNUE gère un réseau spécial d'une trentaine de partenaires, connus sous le nom de Comités nationaux du PNUE. Ces organisations multipartites représentent un vaste éventail d'instances environnementales, d'ONG de développement, d'associations des Nations Unies, d'organes de presse, de représentants de l'industrie, du secteur du travail, de la communauté scientifique, d'organisations de femmes, de jeunes et de populations autochtones, ainsi que des groupements communautaires, des gouvernements et des personnalités éminentes.

Les Comités nationaux sont des vecteurs de communication avec le grand public de chaque pays. Ils contribuent à sensibiliser le public au mandat et à la mission du PNUE, à rallier son soutien aux activités du PNUE, à attirer son attention sur les préoccupations et problèmes mondiaux, régionaux et nationaux, et à mobiliser des ressources pour trouver des solutions aux problèmes écologiques. De plus, ces comités aident le PNUE à organiser des manifestations spéciales, des campagnes d'information et des ateliers sur divers thèmes environnementaux.

Chacun des multiples secrétariats de conventions et bureaux fonctionnels que le PNUE compte en Europe se concentre sur son mandat particulier, tandis que le Bureau régional pour l'Europe a des attributions beaucoup plus vastes concernant la promotion des intérêts généraux du PNUE, et consistant notamment à encourager les partenariats et à promouvoir la sensibilisation du public.

Par exemple, le BRE organise la Journée mondiale de l'environnement chaque année le 5 juin, présente des exposés aux missions diplomatiques, entretient des contacts avec les acteurs de la société civile comme les groupes d'étudiants et collabore avec le Comité olympique international pour rendre les Jeux olympiques plus «verts». Il se charge également de mettre en oeuvre des projets de fond dans les domaines de l'environnement, de la sécurité, et de la consommation et production durables, et appuie le processus de coopération baptisé «Un environnement pour l'Europe».

L'Europe semble bien partie pour rester une région prépondérante pour le PNUE, en tant que source de financement, d'expertise et de partenariats. Mais le PNUE s'est aussi engagé à donner à cette région autant qu'il reçoit, sous la forme de projets novateurs et du dialogue régional permanent sur la façon dont l'Europe peut au mieux contribuer à la protection de l'environnement à l'échelle planétaire.

www.unep.ch