Initiatives

Robert Cramer

Robert Cramer, State Councillor in charge of the Department of Territory for the Republic and State of Geneva, is responsible for protection of the environment and nature, transport and land-use planning. A graduate in law from the University of Geneva and a court lawyer, he was the legal adviser for several antinuclear associations and WWF from 1982-1997. He joined the Geneva Green Party in 1984 and sat in the Cantonal Parliament from 1985-1993. In 1997 he became the first Green elected to the Government of the Republic and State of Geneva, and was Cantonal President in 2004.

Introduction

Geneva, a center of excellence for international initiatives

Incorporating sustainable development principles into public as well as private action is today essential. However, such integration is complex, requiring scientific, economic and political knowledge. It requires cross-disciplinary approaches and taking account of phenomena that go beyond regional and national boundaries through collaboration and better coordination at all levels. Geneva has notable advantages that enable it to meet this challenge.

The «capital of peace and human rights», Geneva is also at the centre of the largest «green» network on on the planet. It has become the principal global coordinating structure for action in the field of the environment, with 52 intergovernmental bodies, 24 specialized NGOs and nine academic institutions. A real pole of excellence has developed here. And, naturally, these organizations have found a home in International Environment House I and II, created with the support of the Geneva authorities and the Swiss Confederation. In this respect, I would like to note that, conscious of its particular responsibility in this field, Geneva was the first Swiss canton to adopt a law implementing Agenda 21 as approved at the Rio Summit. This law applies to all public authorities and guarantees economic efficiency, social solidarity and ecological responsibility in all domains of public sector activity.

At the same time, the institutions of the canton and of the city of Geneva have developed a whole range of instruments for sustainable development, with local companies, international organizations and even diplomatic missions. The «Fкte du dйveloppement durable» taking place every year in June in the heart of our city, brings together bodies as different as UNEP, Geneva authorities and local environmental associations. Coming together, sharing, reflecting together, innovating, creating, deciding and, above all, showing by doing, is a reality in Geneva.

Initiatives

Robert Cramer

Robert Cramer, Conseiller d'État en charge du Département du territoire de la République et canton de Genève, est responsable de la protection de l'environnement et de la nature, de la mobilité et de l'aménagement du territoire. Licencié en droit de l'Université de Genève et avocat, il a été le conseiller juridique de diverses associations antinucléaires et du WWF de 1982 à 1997. Il adhère au Parti écologiste genevois - les Verts - en 1984 et siège au Parlement du canton de Genève de 1985 à 1993. En 1997, il est le premier élu Vert au gouvernement de la République et canton de Genève qu'il a présidé en 2004.

Introduction

Genève, centre d'excellence en initiatives internationales

La prise en compte du développement durable, dans l'action publique comme dans le secteur privé, est aujourd'hui essentielle. Sa mise en oeuvre est cependant complexe, dans la mesure où il s'agit de faire appel à des connaissances scientifiques, économiques et politiques. Elle implique un traitement interdisciplinaire et une prise en compte de phénomènes qui dépassent les frontières régionales et nationales, en mettant en oeuvre la concertation et une meilleure coordination, à tous les niveaux. Or Genève dispose d'atouts appréciables pour relever ce défi exigeant.

Capitale de la paix et des droits de l'homme, Genève est aussi au centre du plus grand réseau vert de la planète. Le Réseau environnement de Genève est devenu la principale structure de coordination mondiale des actions dans le domaine de l'environnement, avec 52 organes intergouvernementaux, 24 ONG spécialisées et 9 instituts académiques. C'est dire qu'un véritable pôle d'excellence environnementale s'est développé ici. Et c'est naturellement qu'il trouve accueil dans les Maisons internationales de l'environnement I et II, érigées avec l'appui des autorités genevoises et de la Confédération suisse. A cet égard, conscient de sa responsabilité particulière en la matière, Genève a été le premier canton de Suisse à adopter, dans la ligne du Sommet de Rio, une loi instituant un Agenda 21. Il s'agit d'un programme qui s'impose à toute la collectivité publique et permet de garantir l'efficacité économique, la solidarité sociale et la responsabilité écologique dans tous les domaines de l'action publique.

Les institutions publiques qui oeuvrent sur le territoire genevois élaborent également des instruments de promotion du développement durable, en collaboration avec des entreprises locales, des organisations internationales et des missions diplomatiques. La Fête du développement durable, organisée chaque année en juin au coeur de la ville, est l'occasion par exemple de réunir des acteurs aussi différents que le PNUE, des associations environnementales locales et les autorités genevoises. Réunir, partager, réfléchir ensemble, innover, créer, décider et par-dessus tout montrer par l'action est certainement une réalité à Genève.